last-lap pass lifts roahrig in 500 sprint tour

BROWNSBURG, Ind. — Tyler Roahrig claimed the Pat O’Conner and Joe James sprint car victory with a last-lap pass Monday night at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

Roahrig set fast time during qualifying for the 500 Sprint Car Tour event and started 10th in the 30-lap feature.

Roahrig climbed to the fourth spot after 15 circuits and then passed both Armstrong and Kody Swanson to move up to the second spot from fourth on lap 21.

The caution flag waved on lap 23 when Doug Fitzwater spun in turn two which set up a seven-lap run to the checkers.

Billy Wease was on the point after taking the lead from Dakoda Armstrong with a pass on the back straight on lap 21.

With Wease on the point he was chased on the restart by Roahrig, Armstrong, Swanson and Russ Gamester.

Roahrig looked inside of Wease on lap 26 but fell back when the car wiggled in turn four.

On the final lap Roahrig got a great run off the back straight and was able to get underneath of Wease entering turn three for the win.

Kody Swanson came home third followed by Bobby Santos III, Armstrong with visiting NASCAR champion Kyle Larson coming home in sixth.

It was Roahrig’s second win with the 500 Sprint Car Tour presented by Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper auto stores.

“With two to go, I thought we would end up second,” Roahrig said. “I think the lapped car held him (Wease) up and I got a good run down the back straight.

“Going into turn three I thought I would either spin or make the race,” he said.

Wease said there wasn’t anything he could have done differently to hold off Roahrig.

“I got off held back coming out of turn two and Tyler got a good run down the back straight,” he said. “To start nineth and finish second was a good run.”

Swanson said his Doran Enterprises prepared car lost the handle in the closing laps.

“I gave it everything I had working my way up from eighth,” he said.

The finish:

1) Tyler Roahrig; 2) Billy Wease; 3) Kody Swanson; 4) Bobby Santos III; 5) Dakoda Armstrong; 6) Kyle Larson; 7) Tanner Swanson; 8) Kyle O’Gara; 9) Taylor Ferns; 10)CJ Leary; 11) Ken Schrader; 12) Russ Gamester; 13) Joe Ligouri; 14) Nathan Byrd; 15) Shane Butler; 16) Kyle Robbins; 17) Justin Harper; 18) Tony Main; 19) Quinton Saayman; 20) Travis Welpott; 21) Davey Hamilton Jr.; 22) Doug Fitzwater; 23) Derek Bischak; 24) Cory Butler; 25) Jim Sheets

Keyword: Last-Lap Pass Lifts Roahrig In 500 Sprint Tour


JJR — Unique Chemistry

Uncertainties surrounded Jason Johnson Racing in 2018 after the loss of its leader. But during the Knoxville Nationals that year, the team found exactly what it was looking for. That was Lemoore, Calif., racer Carson Macedo. Now, Macedo and JJR are targeting a Knoxville Nationals victory in their second ...

View more: JJR — Unique Chemistry

Rookies Make Noise On Night 1 Of Knoxville Nationals

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Wednesday’s Knoxville Nationals opener saw a handful of Nationals rookies make some noise as four of them qualified for the feature, including one who might’ve already punched their ticket to Saturday. Leading the way was Aromas, Calif.’s Justin Sanders. Sanders may have not finished atop the ...

View more: Rookies Make Noise On Night 1 Of Knoxville Nationals

Knoxville Nationals Preview: Thursday

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Reigning NOS Energy Drink Knoxville Nationals winner Kyle Larson leads a field that includes four other winners of the prestigious event during Thursday night’s qualifying events for the 61st annual event. Larson drove Paul Silva’s No. 57 to victory in the 60th running of the event ...

View more: Knoxville Nationals Preview: Thursday

Sanders & Swindell Click At Knoxville Nationals

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Less than three weeks ago, Justin Sanders wasn’t planning to make his Knoxville Nationals debut when a message from Kevin Swindell appeared on his phone, and now he’s nearly locked into Saturday’s $175,000 to win Nationals finale. While racing at the isolated Skagit Speedway in Washington, ...

View more: Sanders & Swindell Click At Knoxville Nationals

Knoxville Nationals Preview: Wednesday

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The 61st NOS Energy Drink Knoxville Nationals kicks off Wednesday night at the historic Knoxville Raceway with a field of heavy hitters led by 10-time race winner Donny Schatz. Schatz and the other 51 drivers scheduled for Wednesday’s program will be chasing points in the traditional ...

View more: Knoxville Nationals Preview: Wednesday

Sides Picks Price

While Jason Sides is on the sidelines awaiting hip replacement surgery, 24-year-old Robbie Price of Cobble Hill, B.C., is the racer Sides selected to drive his familiar No. 7s sprint car as the team honors its commitment to the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series. Price ...

View more: Sides Picks Price

Life Outside The Cockpit

With more than 1,200 World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series feature starts on his résumé, Jason Sides is struggling to find his footing outside of the cockpit after a nagging hip injury forced the 49-year-old racing veteran to take a hiatus from driving. “It’s pretty tough,” ...

View more: Life Outside The Cockpit

Schuchart Wins On Unusual Night At Knoxville

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Logan Schuchart won for the second time in the last two races at Knoxville Raceway, claiming the victory Wednesday on the opening night of the 61st annual NOS Energy Drink Knoxville Nationals. Schuchart, who won the Capitani Classic on Sunday night, held off 10-time Nationals champion ...

View more: Schuchart Wins On Unusual Night At Knoxville

Schatz & Gravel Tied Atop Night 1 Points

Lack Of Passing Leaves Contenders Frustrated

Larson Goes Back To Back For $21,000

Reutzel Takes Charge Of ‘Mr. Sprint Car’ Standings

Marks Holds Slight Lead In Latest Rankings

All’s Fair In Love & Slide Jobs

Knoxville Notes: Contenders Tune Up In Cappy Classic

Hickle Adjusting To New Challenge 

Schuchart Stops Schatz In Capitani Classic

Hafertepe Jr. Leads ‘Mr. Sprint Car’ Standings

Blonde Sizzles In Lorain Sprint

Kody Swanson’s Toledo Six Pack


Breaking thailand news, thai news, thailand news Verified News Story Network