fuqua flies at dallas county

URBANA, Mo. — Making its third visit in four years to the Dallas County Speedway, the Summit USMTS National Championship came to town for the Wehrs Machine Bullring Bash.

The first turn got a bit bumpy for polesitter Jake O’Neil and fellow front-row starter Terry Phillips got the advantage on the opening lap. Just four laps in, however, Phillips suffered a flat tire and stopped on the track to bring out the yellow flag.
O’Neil set the pace for the restart with Jason Hughes, Zack VanderBeek, Shane DeVolder and Tanner Mullens following in his tire tracks.

O’Neil went to the high side and briefly padded his lead, but Hughes reeled him in and made the pass for the lead with 12 laps in the books and lapped traffic looming ahead.

Halfway through the 42-lapper, Darron Fuqua found himself running second while the left rear tire of O’Neil was rubbing the fender and smoke billowing from the tire.

With Hughes struggling to get around a pair of back-markers, Fuqua wheeled around the outside to take the lead on lap 31. Three laps later, O’Neil’s tire finally let go and he stopped at the top of turn four and caused the third caution of the race.

Nine laps remained when Fuqua brought the field back to the green flag with Hughes, Mullens, DeVolder and Dereck Ramirez in tow.

Great battles ensued between Hughes and Mullens for second while Dustin Sorensen came up to mix it up with Ramirez and DeVolder. Meanwhile, Fuqua left the field behind and cruised to his career-first USMTS triumph.

The 2018 USRA Modified National Champion from Mayetta, Kan., pulled away to win by more than three seconds while pocketing $5,000 for his efforts.

Hughes, DeVolder, Mullens and Sorensen completed the top five.

The finish:

Darron Fuqua, Jason Hughes, Shane DeVolder, Tanner Mullens, Dustin Sorensen, Rodney Sanders, Dylan Thornton, Carlos Ahumada Jr., Dereck Ramirez, Kyle Brown, Terry Phillips, Alex Williamson, Brandon Givens, Jacob Bleess, Eric Turner, Dalton Kirk, Dan Ebert, Tyler Wolff, Jake O’Neil, Kale Westover, Lance Mari, Joe Duvall, Dean Wille, Zack VanderBeek

Keyword: Fuqua Flies At Dallas County


Gundaker Remains Hopeful For First WoO Win

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. — Gordy Gundaker’s evolution on the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Model Series tour has become more apparent every race. The Rookie-of-the-Year contender from St. Charles, Mo., started the year struggling to find his way into the top-15. But the second half of the ...

View more: Gundaker Remains Hopeful For First WoO Win

Pierce, Hoffman Reflect on Fifth Hell Tour Crowns

CONCORD, N.C. – For the fifth time in their young, yet storied careers, Bobby Pierce and Nick Hoffman have conquered the Hell Tour. Pierce, the 25-year-old from Oakwood, Ill., won seven features on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Model trail this year with 15 top-fives and only two finishes ...

View more: Pierce, Hoffman Reflect on Fifth Hell Tour Crowns

Yankowski, Von Dohren, Paunch Jr. Pocket Grandview Prizes

BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. – The NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series presented the Triple Roaring 20’s on Tuesday Night at Grandview Speedway where Craig Von Dohren, Billy Pauch Jr., and Alex Yankowski picked up Modified victories. Yankowski claimed the bulk of the spoils with a $3,000 bonus ...

View more: Yankowski, Von Dohren, Paunch Jr. Pocket Grandview Prizes

Turner Grabs Wild EMS SportMod Win

EAST MOLINE, Ill.  – The car pasted itself to the low groove and finally worked the way Erick Turner wanted. The Barstow, Ill. regular at East Moline Speedway had the hard work pay off with the 15-lap Legacy Corporation IMCA SportMod win Sunday evening during a wild race. “Everyone ...

View more: Turner Grabs Wild EMS SportMod Win

Upcoming Event At Iowa’s 34 Raceway Cancelled

AUSTIN, Texas — The Castrol® FloRacing Night in America event scheduled for Tuesday, August 2, at Iowa’s 34 Raceway has been canceled due to the ongoing tire supply shortage. “We were looking forward to making our debut at 34 Raceway on Tuesday, however, after talking with teams and area ...

View more: Upcoming Event At Iowa’s 34 Raceway Cancelled

McKinney Outduels Hoffman At Prairie Dirt Classic

FAIRBURY, Ill. — From Summit Modified races, the FALS Super Nationals, to the FALS Cup points championship, Mike McKinney had won just about every marquee DIRTcar UMP Modified race on the Fairbury Speedway schedule, except one. The Prairie Dirt Classic had evaded his grasp throughout his career, but now, ...

View more: McKinney Outduels Hoffman At Prairie Dirt Classic

PDC Victory Nets $100,000 For Sheppard

FAIRBURY, Ill. — Brandon Sheppard knew less than 10 laps into Saturday’s Prairie Dirt Classic his ability to read Fairbury’s surface would pay off well. And pay off big. As the New Berlin, Ill., driver saw a cushion building on the track’s high banks, he felt right at home. The ...

View more: PDC Victory Nets $100,000 For Sheppard

Four Winners, 16 Locked In At Fairbury

FAIRBURY, Ill. — Sixty-two answered the bell, and 16 are locked-in to the main event. The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment  Modified Nationals portion of the 32nd Prairie Dirt Classic kicked off Friday night at Fairbury Speedway  and contested four individual 20-lap Showdown features. In similar fashion to his Friday night victory in ...

View more: Four Winners, 16 Locked In At Fairbury

Four WoO LM Dirt Showdown Winners

Whittemore Eager For 50th Super DIRT Week

Sheppard Rules Orange Co. Mod Run

Tanner English Aims For Prairie Dirt Classic Win, Rookie Award

32nd Prairie Dirt Classic In Store For DIRTcar Modifieds

$100,000 On The Line At Fairbury Speedway

Godown Rules Bridgeport STSS Run

O’Neal Grabs $10,000 Davenport Prize

WoO Late Models At I-94 Cancelled

Davenport Is Boone Speeding Bullet

Davenport Banks 53,000 Silver Dollars

Weedsport Hall Of Fame 100 Postponed


Breaking thailand news, thai news, thailand news Verified News Story Network